50 Comments
Aug 23, 2021Liked by Jeremy Anderberg

I read The Hound of the Baskervilles every year around Halloween. This will be year #4.

Expand full comment
Aug 22, 2021Liked by Jeremy Anderberg

I like to reread the Sherlock Holmes adventures in the Fall or Winter. Foggy London makes me think of sitting by the fireside in Baker Street where some client brings Holmes an unusual story that sets him off on a new quest.

Expand full comment
Aug 22, 2021Liked by Jeremy Anderberg

I always like to revisit "The Great Gatsby" in the autumn. After all, as Jordan says to Daisy in the book:

"Life starts all over again when it gets crisp in the fall."

Expand full comment
Aug 23, 2021Liked by Jeremy Anderberg

Typically fall means the return of football so I will either read a bio or juvenile sports fiction (Bee & Dawson are 2 of my fav authors in this area)

History Reading lineup for this fall-

September(9/11)- Rise&Fall: started this audio yesterday and thinking I will find it especially timely given current events

October (Disney): Oct 1st marks the 50th anniversary of Disney World opening- so I am looking forward to a history related to that park's creation.

November-Meachum's Death of a President

Expand full comment
Aug 23, 2021Liked by Jeremy Anderberg

Always a great time to re-read Walden by Thoreau. Also digging into the fantastic bio on his life by Laura Dassow Walls.

Expand full comment
Aug 24, 2021Liked by Jeremy Anderberg

My book club last night decided on "Frankenstein" as our next read, followed by "Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil", both of which I have previously read. I am planning on reading "The International Brigades: Fascism, Freedom and the Spanish Civil War". Then again, I am auditing a course on 19th Century Europe (a history class offered at the local university) to learn more about this period and history in general, so I'm not sure how much extra time I will have to read outside of the book club and school.

Expand full comment
Aug 23, 2021Liked by Jeremy Anderberg

A few months ago I read The Storm Before the Storm by Mike Duncan, and I really enjoyed it. It reads like more of a plot driven novel than a history book. He has a new book out on Tuesday about the Marquis de Lafayette which I preordered right after finishing his first book, and it will be near the top of my fall reading list. Are there any other new books coming out that anyone is excited about?

Expand full comment
Aug 24, 2021Liked by Jeremy Anderberg

Really excited to read “The Guide”, which is Peter Heller’s newly released sequel to “The River”. I might also (finally) read something by Colson Whitehead and “Winter Counts” by Weiden. I’m not much of a horror fan, but I should probably read one of King’s masterpieces eventually.

Expand full comment
Aug 24, 2021Liked by Jeremy Anderberg

Three Fiction: Harlem Shuffle by Colson Whitehead; The Lincoln Highway by Amor Towles, and most of all, Bewilderment by Richard Powers.

Three Non-fiction: Resistance by Jennifer Rubin, On That Day by William M. Arkin, and most of all, The Afghanistan Papers by Craig Whitlock.

Expand full comment
Aug 23, 2021Liked by Jeremy Anderberg

I have no book plans that are specific for fall, but I plan on finishing the last two books in the Dark Tower series and then finishing up the Cartel trilogy by Don Winslow. I was really excited for his new book coming out this fall, but it was delayed until next year I believe.

Expand full comment
Aug 23, 2021Liked by Jeremy Anderberg

Just finished up Surprise, Kill, Vanish and thought it was really well done. Going to read through more of Annie Jacobsen, starting with her book on Area 51.

Expand full comment
Aug 23, 2021Liked by Jeremy Anderberg

I usually try and check out a few football books to kick off the fall season. Last year, I read The Undefeated by Jim Dent. This year I am hoping to start When Pride Still Mattered by David Maraniss.

Expand full comment
Aug 23, 2021Liked by Jeremy Anderberg

I usually read something of a more academic bent consistent with the back to school. Some good history coming out.

Expand full comment
Aug 23, 2021Liked by Jeremy Anderberg

Bradbury’s Something Wicked This Way Comes is always a good Autumn read.

Expand full comment
Aug 23, 2021Liked by Jeremy Anderberg

Not fall-specific and definitely not cozy, but I've been on a big Dostoevsky kick lately and I'm hoping to make it through The Idiot in the next month or two.

Expand full comment
Aug 23, 2021Liked by Jeremy Anderberg

Harry Potter is always my cozy book. Although I’m in Lonesome Dove currently, and may explore the rest of that series!

Expand full comment
Aug 23, 2021Liked by Jeremy Anderberg

My season of horrible reading begins in September. Horror and ghost stories through December culminating in a re-reading of A CHRISTMAS CAROL.

Two books on my list so far: ONLY THE GOOD INDIANS and USHER’s PASSING.

Always open to suggestions.

Expand full comment
Aug 22, 2021Liked by Jeremy Anderberg

Autumn Light by Pico Iyer is a favorite that I've read the last two falls. I'm looking forward to it again this year!

Expand full comment

I'm currently wrapping up "The Skeptics Guide to the Universe: How to Know What's Really Real in a World Increasingly Full of Fake" by Dr. Steven Novella. This has been a great read for me to start thinking more critically. I'm not one to buy into things easily but I do often accept things at face value, and this book has provided tools for me to start thinking more critically.

After I finish that, I am going to resume "Atlas Shrugged." Every time I pick this book up I enjoy reading it, however I find it difficult to consistently read due to the shear size of it. My goal for this fall is to finally finish it.

Expand full comment