53 Comments

A Gentleman in Moscow by Amor Towles. I liked a lot about that book.

Expand full comment

The Screwtape Letters

Expand full comment

A Gentleman in Moscow...liked it so much I'm going for a second read and loving it all over again!

Expand full comment

Fahrenheit 451. I read it for the first time this summer.

Expand full comment

River of Doubt: Theodore Roosevelt's Darkest Journey by Candice Millard. Such an amazing story of Theodore Roosevelt's terrifying adventure through part of the Amazon river, definitely earned the 5-star review.

Expand full comment

Gabrielle Zevin's Tomorrow and Tomorrow and Tomorrow absolutely destroyed me in the best way. I just lied on my couch for an hour thinking after I finished it.

Expand full comment

Watership Down. So incredibly good!

Expand full comment

Malibu Rising by Taylor Jenkins Reid :)

Expand full comment

Making Habits Breaking Habits by Jeremy Dean. Also, anything by LeGuin.

Expand full comment

The Road by Cormac McCarthy. I read this 10 months after the birth of my first son, so I think the book hit me harder than it would have if I read it at another point in my life.

Expand full comment

Cloud Cuckoo Land. Three different story lines that take place in different times and different places: The past, the present, and the future. And they all center around an Ancient Greek story and book.

The other 5 star read for me thus far this year is Matrix by Lauren Groff, loosely based on Marie de France, a 12th century nun. It was one of our reads in the bookclub and not everyone liked it, to say the least. I thought it was one of the best books I have read this year.

Expand full comment

Just read Coraline for the first time back in May and loved it so much. It was a very quick but wonderful read.

Expand full comment

Bad City by Paul Pringle

Expand full comment

The Love Songs of W.E.B. Du Bois by Honoree Fannone Jeffers

Expand full comment

The Handmaid’s Tale. Atwood can flat out write. Are her other books as good as this one?

Expand full comment

4000 Weeks by Burkeman. I am currently reading another 5-star-so-far that is kind of the Christian version of 4000 Weeks, You Are Not Your Own: How to be Human in an Inhuman World by Alan Noble. It's more philosophical than theological and dovetails well with Burkeman's secular take on many of the same issues.

Expand full comment

Circe by Madeline Miller

4000 Weeks: Time Management for Mortals by Oliver Burkeman

Expand full comment

The Plant Hunter: a Scientist's Quest for Nature's Next Medicine by Cassandra Leah Quave

I loved this memoir that combines Quave's personal story with her career as an ethnobotanist. She discusses the urgent need to find new treatments- especially for drug resistant bacteria. Quave learns about traditional medicines from village elders, then tests those treatments scientifically, trying to isolate the effective compounds to be used to produce mass market medicines. I learned so much!

Expand full comment

A Gentleman in Moscow and Black Cake

Expand full comment

Brideshead Revisited, which I read for the first time this summer.

Expand full comment

The Only Good Indians by Stephen Graham Jones

Expand full comment

“Jack” by Marilynne Robinson

Expand full comment

Atomic Habits by James Clear. Honestly a really helpful book which helped me to stop biting my nails. Next goal: stop smoking permanently, wish me luck!

Expand full comment

Jean de Florette/Manon des Sources.

Expand full comment

My last 5-star read was "Haunted" by Chuck Palahniuk. It's one of the few books that I've read multiple times.

Expand full comment

Two books.

The Anomaly by Herve Le Tellier, combining science fiction, thriller, and philosophy. It was deeply funny, wonderfully structured, and disturbed the hell out of me so much that I spent weeks reading up on __________ ______ (no spoilers). I had to go back and reread passages because they were marvelous.

My husband and I got into a heated argument over this book. How's that for an endorsement?

A Map of the World by Jane Hamilton. One family's reality is slowly undone. Nothing is what it seems. Love, family, friendships, the safety of your mind and body, even your idea of who you are, all of it is held together with invisible strings that can pulled apart thread by thread.

Expand full comment

Speaks the Nightbird by Robert McCammon

Expand full comment

Pure Life by Eugene Marten

Expand full comment

The City & The City by China Mièville. Brilliant crime novel crossed with SF.

Expand full comment

The Ruthless Elimination of Hurry by John Mark Comer

Expand full comment

The Silent Wife by Karin Slaughter. It is one of the best researched crime thrillers I have ever come across. It's been really hard for me to do anything else except read that book...

Expand full comment

The Index of Self-Destructive Acts, by Christopher Beha. Blew me away.

Expand full comment

The Immortal King Rao by Vauhini Vara. It’s alt-history and a shockingly plausible near future for the planet.

Expand full comment
founding

Lessons in Chemistry

Expand full comment

Just finished the wonderful memoir-meets-history “Why We Swim” by Bonnie Tsui. Bought the book and was not a swimmer, but it’s a soulful and interesting read!

Expand full comment

Song of Kali, by Dan Simmons. Horrifying!!

Expand full comment

The Lincoln Highway by Towles. Though I’m a third through the new Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow so far it’s shaping up very well.

Expand full comment

Radley Balko's "Rise of the Warrior Cop." Incredible and necessary research.

Expand full comment

Superforecasting: The Art and Science of Prediction by Philip Tetlock & Dan Gardner

Expand full comment

Independent People by Halldor Laxness. Unforgettable story populated with memorable characters that takes place in early 20th century Iceland. Read it before recent Laxness article in the New Yorker, but agree 100%. Salka Valkha up next!

Expand full comment